The Cost of Art.

Good art isn’t cheap…and that’s the fact of the matter.

WORK IN PROGRESS’Tsunami’ Acrylic paint and marker. 2012
$710

In my line of creative ‘work’ I’ve come across some interesting conundrums.

Making a statement, name, change and money…and survive through my art.

 

MANY lay people gasp at the cost of some of my works. ” $600- 1300? It’s JUST art!”

Insert sigh and unearthly head pounding on nearest wall.

What I do is more than just a ‘hobby’ or ‘quaint past time’. This is my soul thriving purpose. It just so happens that people like to give me money for my work. I don’t create it with selling in mind. I create it for my own enjoyment.

So identifying a fair trade or cost for one’s labor is still important.

It can pay the bills. how can you price something like creativity.

I sought out local money guru and roommate and explained to him my problem. He gave me a simple formula:

Hours of painting X $Dollar pr hr +materials+Labor of love= STICKER COST.

3 out of the top 10 highest fetched art belongs to Pablo Picasso. Top 10 Most expensive works of art.

The portrait of his mistress sold for $106,482,500 in May of 2010.
